Pre-gelatinised starch is vegetarian and vegan. It can be found in:
Dry mixes (soups and sauces)
Baby formula and food
Gelatine usually refers to a meat-based product. Gelatinised refers to a process. Pre-gelatinised starch is a plant-based ingredient made from potato, wheat, corn or tapioca. This means it is entirely suitable for vegetarian and vegan consumption.
What is it used for?
Pre-gelatinised starch dissolves in cold liquids and becomes viscous (like gelatine). It is used for thickening and binding products, as well as a filling ingredient in pharmaceutical tablets. Other names for this product include: pre-gelatinised modified starch, pre-gelatinised food starch, modified starch, instant starch, soluble starch and pregel/prejel starch.
Sign up for our newsletter