The Vegetarian Society Approved trademarks are symbols you will see on thousands of products in shops all over the UK, EU, USA and many other countries. There are two Vegetarian Society Approved trademarks – one for vegetarian products and one for vegan products. The vegetarian trademark has been going since 1986, and the vegan one since 2017.
The Vegetarian Society Approved trademark process involves our experts checking all ingredients and production methods. By independently checking all the ingredients, it means you don’t have to when you’re shopping. When you see our vegetarian or vegan trademarks on a product, you know you can trust it is vegetarian or vegan.
Only products that meet our strict criteria are allowed to display these trademarks.
You won’t just find the trademarks on food items – they are also displayed on drinks, alcoholic drinks, cosmetics and beauty products, household and cleaning products, health products, things for the baby, pet foods, restaurant and pub dishes, and a whole lot more!
The Vegetarian Society Approved trademarks are not allergen labels and should not be used as such.
✓ Contains no ingredient made from animal body parts ✓ Only free-range eggs are used ✓ Measures in place to avoid cross-contamination during production ✓ GMO-free ✓ No animal testing carried out or commissioned
✓ Contains no animal-derived ingredients ✓ Measures in place to avoid cross-contamination during production ✓ GMO-free ✓ No animal testing carried out or commissioned